Brokenness

 

Crash! Shattered glass everywhere. “Leslie really! That is the second dish this week.” The teasing about my klutziness ensued yet again.  In case you don’t know I am the hugest klutz around. My mom has not been able to have a complete set of  glasses and plates since I came into this world 19 years ago. She is probably looking towards the day I move out, if only for lack of broken dishes and spilled water on important documents. The sad thing is I am better then I used to be…….have I mentioned that my mom is an angel?

While in the Philippines I helped wash dishes. You might be thinking Leslie that was nice of you, well three broken dishes later it was probably not such a servant minded thing to do anymore.  It got so bad towards the end that they jokingly gave me my own personalized plastic cup and paper plate.  If I was a Filipino missionaries I would have probably been silently rejoicing when the klutz went home.  Even after all the broken dishes they still want me to come back. It blows my mind that I destroy things and yet people still extend their love to me.

As much as our friends and family love us God loves us more. Even when we mess up so bad that the whole world turns agains us God still loves us through all the brokenness of  life. He will never leave us or forsake us.(Deuteronomy 31:6)The sins you and I  commit are the reason Jesus had to die such a cruel death on the cross. His heart breaks all the time over the actions we chose to do and yet he still loves us. Even when we committee terrible sins when we repent and ask for forgiveness being washed in his blood we are saved. What an amazing God we serve that he set up this path of forgiveness for us!

 

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. 1 John 1:9 

He himself bore our sins in his body on the tree, that we might die to sin and live to righteousness. By his wounds you have been healed. 1 Peter 2:24

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

