Proud To Be A Mess!

I am blessed that my university is only half an hour away from my house. This enables me to to live at home, while going to school.  You might be thinking, “What does that have to do with that terrible mess that you call a room?” Well, as a commuting college student sometimes it seems like I am never actually at home. My room is where I sleep and that is pretty much it. My normal evening routine goes something like this.

  1. Get Home & Eat
  2. Sleep

Does anybody else feel me on this? During the short time at home, there really isn’t a whole lot of free time to clean my room. I want to make it clear, the reason I am showing you my messy room is not to condone living in filth (I do try and clean it every weekend), but I want to be real with you. I don’t have it all together. My bedroom and my life is oftentimes a mess. I don’t handle situations properly, I speak in anger, I don’t set aside time to read my Bible, and sometimes I forget to make time for the people who are truly important. I am a mess and my room is just the outward showing of that, but what I have to remember is that I am God’s wonderful mess. You are not alone if you’re feeling like your life is a mess. Things might be spinning out of control, but God has you in the palm of his hand.

29 “Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? And not one of them will fall to the ground apart from your Father. 30 But even the hairs of your head are all numbered. 31 Fear not, therefore; you are of more value than many sparrows.” Mathew 10:29-31

God is looking out for you, guiding you and protecting you no matter what you might be going through. I personally have a lot going on right now.  Sometimes I feel like I lose myself in the shuffle of things, but God is always there guiding me and directing me through my life, if I just stop to listen to Him. Sometimes All the time I am a mess and that is why I love what Paul says in Ephesians,

“For we are his workmanship,created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.” Ephesians 2:10

We are God’s workmanship, and if we are doing what he commands us to do then we are beautiful. You are fearfully and wonderfully made Psalm 139:14. Are you going to stumble? Yes! Are you going to make mistakes that might seem unfix-able to mere humans? Yes! But thankfully we serve someone who is far more powerful then we could ever imagine. God not only forgives us and picks us back up off the ground, but he loves us unconditionally.

“If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.” 1 John 1:9

He is faithful to forgive us even when we stumble, all we have to do is call on him and ask for forgiveness and help. God wants to help us through the difficulties. As you go forward this week don’t be afraid to show people your messy life. Share your messiness with people, but point the glory back to God for making it possible for you to be cleansed.  Remember that God is the one who makes it possible for you to live beautiful, wonderful, Christ filled, messy lives.

 

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed,for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.” Joshua 1:9

2 thoughts on “Proud To Be A Mess!

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

